VEGAN FOOD COLORINGS
Below are links to both specific plant-based food colorings or companies selling plant-based food colorings. Note that in the case of the latter, not every product that company sells may be vegan (unless otherwise noted). If unclear, inquire with company. Answers to my own queries are noted. Note also that some products may contain palm or coconut derived ingredients.
AmeriColor wrote: "There are no animal derived ingredients used in any of our products. Only our Meringue Powder has powdered egg whites. No, our products are not tested on animals." Note, however, that some products contain sugar, the veganocity of which I could not verify.
Watkin's Assorted Food Colorings (Product, including Invert sugar, is vegan. Note that glycerin is derived from palm oil)
Nature's Flavors (sells liquid and powdered colors, all vegan)
Chefmaster (click on preferred natural color and look for "vegan-friendly" designation)
Chef Rubber (Wide variety of confectionary colors. Most products are vegan (except colorings containing insect-derived carmine or cochineal - red). Read vegan statement.
Color Garden (sells liquid colors)
Color Kitchen (sells color powders)
Confection Crafts (sells liquid, gel, powder, and chocolate colors)
India Tree Food Coloring (Note vegan questions answered in FAQ's)
McCormick's Color from Nature (Trehalose is vegan)
Roxy & Rich Colorants wrote: "Our Natural Fat Dispersible are Vegan, as well as all our other food colouring. The only exception being out Chocolate Cake Drip which is contains milk powder and makes it vegetarian."
White Food Coloring (Titanium Dioxide) - This powdered white food coloring can be liquified in a small amount of water or vegan spirit alcohol then added to a cooling sugar syrup (such as for candy canes). Another brand can also be purchased here.